The Pinetar Rag

January 24, 2013

I wonder

Filed under: Canned Heat,Day in the Life — mcgonnigle @ 11:14 pm

Qa6_b6_Be4_Qc8_Rxb6

This is a chess puzzle that appears in the paper and I do them now and then and have my son look at them and try to at least see the concept of solving it. In fact, it was his watching me work one that made him want to play at age 4. He thought it looked neat I guess.

This one was a very good one and not obvious. These are not “Mate-In-X-Moves” puzzles as are so common in chess. These are where you find the key move that leads to either mate or a big material swing that would cinch the game.

I put the pieces on the board on the kitchen table for this puzzle and said, “White to Move and win, buddy, whattayathink?”

And he moves the Queen to a6. It’s funny, he’s been having trouble visualizing pawn captures, so I think he just missed the idea that you don’t put your queen there. I don’t think he looked at the rook at b1 which makes the pawn capture illegal. So I’m not thinking he’s a genius or anything, but darned if that move doesn’t turn out to be the key! Somehow, I’m still impressed. I would not have gone there until after exhausting a lot of other stuff.

You get happy that you have the key move (you think) and then you find what looks like a good refutation: simple b6. Push the pawn. Very powerful.

And I couldn’t make it work with b6 and it annoyed me. I took it to the doctor and sat in the waiting room working on it and after like 20 minutes, I figured out the move that saves Qa6, b6. I go home and lay it out on a real board to test it some more and I show Thomas the problem and ask him what White should do and he just grabs the Bishop and slides it one square to Be4 and he’s looking at me like, “easy”. And again, I know he’s just lucky, but darnit if it isn’t the move I took 10 minutes to find in the doctor’s office!

Black doesn’t have much hope but Qe8 seems about the best. Then Rxb6+, axb6 and then Qxb6 is obvious mate in 1.

He had fun with it. So did I. I don’t think either time he did ANY analysis, but still, it was nice.

1.) Qa6, b6
2.) Be4, Qc8
3.) Rxb6+, axb6
4.) Qxb6+, Qb7
5.) Qxb7++

1 Comment »

  1. For those who don’t do chess stuff. Algebraic coordinates 101:

    The board from white’s perspective: rows are numbered 1 to 8 going away from white. In other words, White sets up his pcs on rows 1 and 2 while Black sets up on 7 and 8.

    Columns are called “Files” (as in “rank and file” rank=row, file=col).

    Files are lettered a,b,c,d,e,f,g,h going from left to right, from White’s point of view. White sets up his rooks on a1 and h1 to start the game.

    That’s it! So simple. Every square has ONE distinct address. The old chess notation was confusing, because every square had 2 addresses, depending on the color perspective.

    Pawn moves are just given as destination address. Addresses are lower case.
    Pieces are noted as Capital letters:
    R=rook
    B=Bishop
    N= Night
    Q=Queen
    K=King

    x denotes a capture.
    + means check.
    ++ means checkmate.
    ? means a bad move.
    ! means a very good move.

    You give the letter of the piece moving first, unless it’s a pawn, where no letter is denoted.
    Nf3 means move the Knight to square f3.

    If two pieces can reach the same square, you say: Rae1 meanding: Move the rook in the a-file to e1.

    Castling is 0-0 for short and 0-0-0 for long.

    That’s it. That’s all there is.

    Comment by mcgonnigle — January 27, 2013 @ 3:26 pm | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

The Rubric Theme Blog at WordPress.com.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 28 other followers

