The Pinetar Rag

April 20, 2012

Jackie Robinson Day CBP April 15, 2012, Brian Birrer

My brother was in the box seats for the intros and he sent me over a couple of grainy screen grabs, and I’m very glad that he did because I had no photos of this as my wife had to be with the statue, and my youngest, in left field.

I was told to be behind the plate on the concourse at 12:50pm for a radio spot on the Phillies pregame. I had done that last year, so I knew where I had to be and what would take place. Just before heading down there, a Phillies employee with a clipboard, came up to me and asked if I was Brian etc.? I was then being whisked to the area by the dugout and told I was going to be introduced on the field. This was a surprise as no one had mentioned it, but I was willing.

I thought I could make the radio spot and still get back down there but they literally wouldn’t let me leave! Then, another Phillies person came and got me and I did the radio spot and still got back to the plate.

No sooner had I reached the holding area by the end of the screen beside the Mets dugout, they said “go out there” and pointed to a spot on the field and I did as directed and a cameraman took a closeup for a few moments as they did the intro, which was a spoken introduction followed by my 2 minute movie playing on the Phanavision. To add to the surrealness of it, I am standing on a big league field getting intro’d and listening to my voice blare out of the PA and seeing shots of my crummy shop on the Phanavision. Look close behind the head sequence, and you’ll see my Mickey Mantle statue in the background. He has since been beheaded, as he is getting a face…er…headlift.

This is what it looked like.

It was a lot of fun and a nice surprise as I never imagined that it would go that way. I was also very grateful to my brother, because he collected my oldest boy, who’s 4, and brought him down close to where he could see everything from the box seats nearby, so you love that. Thanks Bob! And Thanks Kenny!

All day long it was the same: folks lined up to take photos with the statue

1 Comment »

  1. Great article.

    Comment by brain painting — March 14, 2014 @ 6:37 pm | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

The Rubric Theme. Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 30 other followers

