The Pinetar Rag

December 19, 2010

Texting Abbrevs.

Filed under: Uncategorized — mcgonnigle @ 12:11 pm

Click here to launch the piece in a new window

Reading the church bullentin and we see the abbreviation “PPL”. We had to look it up. I’m a web guy, sure, but I am not into certain aspects. I don’t text and I don’t so the social networking sites. So we perused the list. It’s lengthy. I believe that you have to keep a certain level of awareness of trends and technology so I looked it over pretty good on that basis alone. It’s my business, in a way, so I like to have just a general base of wherewithal.

Many, many of the ones on the list, I have to believe, are not widely used. It’s funny, I read a book once called The Victorian Internet and it was a great read! It had all the elements that I like in a book:
(1) Non-Fiction
(2) Science History
(3) Technology History
(4) Plain old History
(5) Interesting, offbeat, ideas and factoids that reinforce the idea that there are no truly “new” things, only old, existing concepts and new implementations of them.
(6) Entrepreneurship

I found this book remarkable in that so many of the things from the Internet, that we consider to be so new and cutting edge are very old things:

From the author:
“It points out the features common to the telegraph networks of the nineteenth century and the internet of today: hype, scepticism, hackers, on-line romances and weddings, chat-rooms, flame wars, information overload, predictions of imminent world peace, and so on. In the process, I get to make fun of the internet, by showing that even such a quintessentially modern technology actually has roots going back a long way (in this case, to a bunch of electrified monks in 1746). “

BTW, I usually link the Amazon link to a book but I didn’t this time. Amazon was one of the entities that helped Wikileaks stay on the web after their original site was brought down. I have a problem with anyone who will help those folks, so I’m taking my business elsewhere (and it was a lot of business). –fog

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

The Rubric Theme. Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 30 other followers

